1862-64: Edward August McDonald to Ellen McDonald

I could not find an image of Edward but here is 18 year-old Mifflin Jennings of Co. C, 11th Iowa infantry

The following letters were written by Edward August McDonald (1843-1864) of Co. D, 11th Iowa Infantry. Edward was the son of William McDonald (1795-1854) and Harriet Studebaker (1807-1891). Edward enlisted in October 1861 as a private; was promoted to corporal in May 1862; but was killed by guerrillas on 19 October 1864 at Adairsville, Georgia. He is buried in the National Cemetery, Chattanooga, Tenn. Section L, grave 259.

Edward wrote the letters to his sister, Catherine Ellen (“Nellie”) McDonald (1844-1891), who married Albert Jefferson Johnston (1842-1927) in 1866. Albert served in the 2nd Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War.

The history of the 11th Iowa Infantry up until the time this letter was written — Moved to Jefferson City, Mo., November, 1861, and duty there till March, 1862. Expedition to Booneville December 8, 1861, and to Providence and Booneboro December 14. Moved to Pittsburg Landing, Tenn., March 10, 1862. Battle of Shiloh, Tenn., April 6-7. Advance on and siege of Corinth, Miss., April 29-May 30. Duty at Corinth and Bolivar till November. Battle of Corinth October 3-4. Pursuit to Ripley October 5-12. Grant’s Central Mississippi Campaign November, 1862, to January, 1863. Moved to Memphis, Tenn., January 12, 1863; thence to Lake Providence, La., January 18. Expedition to Richmond, La., January 29-31. Richmond January 30. Duty at Lake Providence till April 1863.

[Note: Three of the following letters are from the private collection of Mike Huston and were transcribed and published by express consent.]

Letter 1

aacivclear944
Addressed to Miss Ellen McDonald, Wilton, Muscatine County, Iowa
Postmarked Cairo, Illinois


Corinth, Mississippi
June 23, 1862
Dear Sister,

I received your letter several days ago and the only reason I have for [not answering it sooner] is that I am so lazy that I put it off as long as I could — but will promise you not to do it again, and of course you will answer this as soon as you get it. Your letter found me in good health and I hope this will find you enjoying the same blessing.

We are doing nothing at present but lying in our tents and doing our best to keep cool. This southern sun begins to shine pretty warm and as I have liking for hot weather, I keep pretty close to my tent.

I was to see the 5th Iowa last Sunday. They are as fine a looking regiment as I ever saw. Harm was not very well. He had a bad cough but nothing serious. ¹

In regard to Halleck’s Army being ordered to Richmond, we do not know anything of it. Part of our army has gone to Memphis and the remainder is encamped around Corinth. I think it likely our Division will stay here all summer. They are building forts here and intend [to] station troops here.

You will be slightly astonished when I tell you that we [have] ripe blackberries and plums in abundance. This is the greatest country for wild and tame fruit I ever saw. Every farm has a large peach and apple orchard and when they get ripe, we will make them suffer. I would like to be at home when them [ ] but I guess I have [to] do without them this summer. But I think I will be at home in time to go to Mount Vernon next winter with you.

I saw [Albert] Jeff Johnston last week. He was in good health. I also saw Harv Varner. ² He is as big a devil as ever. I believe I have written all the news that would interest you — only that the report of my being promoted to corporal is true. Give my respects to your lady visitors. Nothing more from your brother, — Ed Mac

¹ Harmon H. McDonald was Edward’s brother who enlisted at age 19 in 24 June 1861 in Co. A, 5th Iowa Infantry. He mustered out of the service on 21 April 1863 at Milliken’s Bend, Louisiana.

² Harvey Varner (1843-1902) was a corporal in Troop G, 2nd Iowa Cavalry. He enlisted in August 1861 and was not discharged until September 1865.


Letter 2

Corinth, Mississippi
September 18, 1862

Dear Sister,

I received your letter of the 12th of this month and would have answered immediately, but I received it the morning we left Bolivar and have not had time to write since. We left Bolivar on Friday the 12th and got here Sunday, marching 52 miles in two days and a half. It was the hardest marching we ever done—the water so scarce. We marched the last 10 miles without a  drop of water. The men lay along the road by the dozens. You had better believe I wished for the old well about [every] 5 minutes. I drank water that [1] would hardly drink, but it is all over now and we don’t mind it. The weather here has been quite cool and rainy for several days.

“I suppose you have heard of the Rebels invading Maryland and Pen[nsylvania]. You [need] not be afraid of them ever getting into Iowa. If they do, they will have to march over the western boys and that can’t be did.”

— Edward McDonald, Co. D, 11th Iowa Infantry, 18 September 1862

Our regiment is out on a 5 days scout. I was left behind on guard and am very glad of it for it has rained ever since they have been gone. I saw one of the 5th lowa yesterday. He said Harm 1 was well. They are still at Jacinto. I suppose you have heard of the Rebels invading Maryland and Pen[nsylvania]. You [need] not be afraid of them ever getting into Iowa. If they do, they will have to march over the western boys and that can’t be did. Nute [Newton Ayers] 2 is with us now. He is still lame. I think he will be discharged. Jacob Long 3 is still sick, but is able to be with the company. I intend writing  to Aunt Charlotte before long. I am getting scarce of stamps if you can send me some. If you can’t spare the money, I will [have] my letter franked and you can pay for them at the office. We can’t get stamps here at all. I want you to tell John to write to me and not to forget a poor devil of a soldier [even] if [he] is a center hopper.

I want you to rent the place to some good man and then you can have some peace. I think it likely I will be home before another summer. I will have to close with my love to you all. — E. McDonald 

1 Harmon McDonald C.W. Record Co. A 5th I.V.I. Age 19. Residence Durant, nativity Pennsylvania. Enlisted June 24, 1861.  Mustered July 15, 1861. Discharged for disability April 21, 1863, Milliken’s Bend, Miss.

2 Newton Ayers Co. D 11th I.V.I. Age 25. Residence Wilton, nativity Pennsylvania. Enlisted Sept. 27, 1861. Mustered Oct. 3, 1861.

3 Jacob Long. C.W. Record: Co. D 11th I.V.I. Age 21. Residence Rochester, nativity Ohio. Enlisted Sept. 26, 1861, as Fifer. Mustered  Oct. 3, 1861. Discharged for disability Jan. 18, 1863, Quincy, Ill.


Letter 3

Corinth, Mississippi
October 17, 1862

Dear Sister,

I received your letter yesterday and was glad to hear that you was getting along so well. Your letter found me in good health and enjoying myself as well as could be expected. I suppose you have heard of the great battle of Corinth fought on the 3rd and 4th of this month. I will not attempt to give you the particulars as you have heard them before this time. But suffice it to say, it  was a great victory. The rebels were badly whipped and retreated in great disorder. Our forces pursued them the next morning. We were after them a week. We got back on last Sunday and are taking a rest.

I got a letter from you the night I got back and will make this answer for both. I saw Harm yesterday. He is alright and in fighting order. Their regiment did not suffer much in the battle. Our regiment came out very well with the exception of our company. Abner Moor 1 was killed and G. W. Miller 2 and James Teter 3 wounded. They were struck by a shell. George had his leg broke. He is doing well. Nute Ayres is at St  Louis. He is discharged but his papers have not been sent to him yet. I got a letter from John on Sunday. Mr. Hanna of Muscatine brought it down. He came to take the vote of our regiment. He started home yesterday. I sent John a letter by him.

You spoke of trading our wagon off for a lighter one. I think it is a very good idea as you can go and come when you please. But  if you get to trading, you must not let Kingston cheat you. You must take good care of old Joe for I expect to be home about Christmas and I shall want to take a ride with him for the hay.

The rebels are showing their feet. I think the war will soon end. I hope so at least. One year’s soldiering is enough for m. Although it seems but a short time since we left home. Time flies fast in the army. I am very much obliged to you for those stamps you sent me, as I was entirely out. I have written all the news and will close with my love to you all. Give my respects to  your lady from,

— E. McDonald

1 Moor, Abner Co. D 11th I.V.I. Age 19. Residence Wilton, nativity Pennsylvania. Enlisted Sept. 17, 1861. Mustered Oct. 3, 1861.  Wounded by shell Oct. 4, 1862, Corinth, Miss. Died of wounds Oct. 4, 1862, Corinth, Miss.

2 Miller, George W Co. D 11th I.V.I. Age 21. Residence Pleasant Hill, nativity Pennsylvania. Enlisted Sept. 23, 1861. Mustered Oct.  3, 1861. Wounded severely in leg Oct. 4, 1862, Corinth, Miss. No further record.

3 Teter, James Co. D 11th I.V.I. Age 18. Residence Tipton, nativity Pennsylvania. Enlisted Sept. 17, 1861. Mustered Oct. 3, 1861.  Wounded severely in side Oct. 4, 1862, Corinth, Miss. Discharged Dec. 15, 1862, Keokuk, lowa.


Letter 4

Milliken’s Bend, Louisiana
January 26th 1863

Dear Sister,

I received your letter some time ago and have not had time to answer it until now. I received your letter the day we left Memphis and as we have been on the boat ever since, of course I had no chance to write. We left Memphis one week ago today and arrived here yesterday after a very disagreeable trip. There was eight regiments of infantry on the boat and you may bet we did not have much room to spare. 

We are camped on the Louisiana side of the river about 12 miles from Vicksburg. There is a great many troops here now and more coming down every day and I suppose before long there will be another attempt made on Vicksburg. How it may succeed remains to be seen. I hope we will succeed better than the force that tried it some time ago.

We are about 350 miles south of Memphis. The weather is very warm and pleasant here—rather too warm to be healthy. I received a letter from John while at Memphis and answered the same day. I don’t think he will have any cause to complain of my not answering for others. We received two month’s pay while in Memphis but as I did not know where we would go any more, I thought I would not send any home. We have 6 months pay due us but when we will get it is more than I can tell. When we do get it, I will send you some.

I saw W. Cotton in the hospital at Memphis. He said he was going home in a few days. He will be discharged. The 24th Iowa is down here but I have not seen any of them yet. A great many are engaged in digging a canal in order to change the [ ] of the river and allow it to pass the rebel guns. 

I believe I have written all that would interest you and will bring my letter [to a close] by asking you to write soon and give my love to all. — E. McDonald


Letter 5

aacivbean95
Patriotic Cache of Henry Halleck (“Old Brains”)

Lake Providence, [Louisiana]
March 13th 1863

Dear Nell,

I seat myself this afternoon to give you a good scolding for not writing to me. I have not had a letter from you for 3 weeks. What is the matter? Have you so deeply engaged in preparing yourself for a school marm that you cannot take time to write? But I stop scolding and hope to hear from you soon. I have not had a letter from John for a long time. I want you to tell him to write. I have not much of interest to write. We are ____ camped on the lake and will be apt to stay for some time. The weather is very warm for the time of year. The health of the army is very good. How long it will remain so is more than I will pretend to say. I am afraid the warm weather will have a bad effect on the health of the troops in this department but I hope the troubles will be over before long when we can live in a more healthy climate.

We have been paid off again. We got two months pay. I did not send any home as it is impossible to tell when we will be paid again and it is not very pleasant to be without money in the army. We will very probably get 6 month’s pay next payment when I will send a few greenbacks to spend. I want you to give me the …. I think a little whitewashing would not do them any hurt but I must not slander your kind neighbors. I hope I will be at home to attend the next meeting that is held at church. I do not know as I would know how to behave in meeting for associations in the army are not of the most refined order. I intend sending you my picture with this letter. I had it taken in a case with Samuel Steffee. ¹ It is a very poor picture. I intend having another taken tomorrow which I hope will look some better that this one does. I advise you not to share it for not to frighten them. I will send you one that will do to look at when I get it taken. I believe I have written all that would interest you and will close with my love to you and mother.

Your brother, — E. McDonald

¹ Samuel Steffee enlisted at age 20 in Co. D, 11th Iowa Infantry. He was a native of Pennsylvania and a resident of Muscatine when he enlisted. He was promoted Second Corporal April 26, 1862. Re-enlisted and re-mustered Jan. 1, 1864. Promoted Fifth Sergeant Jan. 1, 1865. Mustered out July 15, 1865, Louisville, Ky.


Letter 6

Vicksburg, Mississippi
March 8, 1864

Dear Nell,

I seat myself once more to let you know that I have not forgotten you. I received your letters dated January 29 and  February 4 and you seem to be somewhat out of humor because I had not written oftener. Well, it is frustrating to write letter after letter and get no answer, but still I do not think I am to blame. I have written several letters since Gus came back. Why you have not got them is more than I can tell. I have not written for over a month and I will tell you the reason. Since the 3rd of Feb until the 4th day of this month we have been a constantly on the march. We have marched about 350 miles. It was the hardest march we were ever on and I hope we may never have another such a one. We had no fighting of any account to do. Our regimen did not fire a gun.

There were about 15,000 men on the expedition. We were commanded by Gen. Sherman. We destroyed a great amount of railroad and other property. We reached here on the evening of the 4th of this month and were as dirty a looking set of fellows as you would wish to look at. So you see I am not as much to blame for not writing as you think for you may be sure I will write whenever I have the opportunity.

We are having beautiful weather here now. It is becoming warm enough to be comfortable in the shade. I suppose our regiment will go north on furlough in a short time. I have not reenlisted and do not intend to. I do not know what will be done with those that don’t [re]enlist and I don’t care. I can soldier any place if I get plenty  to eat. I [don’t] have [much] to write that would that would interest you and will close. I will write soon again and you must do the same. My love to all. — Ed Mac.

2 thoughts on “1862-64: Edward August McDonald to Ellen McDonald

  1. Sergeant William S. Fultz of Company D 11th Iowa Infantry was elected the Company historian at their reunion in Iowa City, IA on September 24, 1885. Fultz utilized his personal diaries, and also reached out to his comrades for their personal recollections, and he compiled a fantastic company history which is now housed at the State Historical Society in Iowa City, IA.

    An excerpt from Chapter 26, Pages 196-197 of this Company History gives a brief description of the tragic death of Edward McDonald. It reads as follows:

    “Edward McDonald after serving his full term of 3 years almost constantly with the company was killed by a bushwhacker on the cars near Adairsville Ga while on his way to Chattanooga to be mustered out of service pepetary {sic} to going to his home in Iowa. I did not learn the exact date of his death but we received the notice of his death onthe 25th of October 1864. Thus our loss during the year was 3 two were killed and one died of exposure in a rebel prison.”

    Like

Leave a comment