1862: Jacob Everett Brown to Elizabeth Brown Pope

An unidentified Illinois Trooper (Spencer Davis Collection)

These letters were written by Jacob Everett Brown (1838-1920), the son of Thomas Yardley Brown (1810-1899) and Mary Ann Everett (1818-1902) of Chatsworth, Livingston County, Illinois.

Jacob served in Co. M, 9th Illinois Cavalry. He enlisted at Onarga, Illinois in August 1862. He was mustered out of the service on 21 April 1864 with a disability. Jacob married Elizabeth Brown (“Brownie”) Pope on January 16, 1868. Granted a disability pension in 1873, Brown worked as a banker in Chatsworth, Illinois in later life. [Two of Brown’s letters are in the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library in Springfield]

Jacob wrote these letters to his future wife, Elizabeth Brown Pope.

Letter 1

Camp near Helena, [Arkansas]
September 29, 1862

Dear Friend E. B. Pope,

As I was eating dinner the post boy came into camp. The boys all run to see of the boy had any mail for them but no. And to my surprise, he (the post boy) cried, “J. E. Brown.” The rest of the boys had to go back to their dinner saying that they should not write no more until they received some mail.

I can say that we all are in good spirits except L. Thayer. We all went out scouting week before last and while we were out, Mr. [Lester] Thayer was taken sick and has been failing ever since. He has been on the point of death for the last two days but is better today. The Hospital Boat came down from St. Louis last night to take the sick up to St. Louis & L. Thayer will go as far as St. Louis and perhaps he will go on to Onarga. Perhaps McAvery will meet him at St. Louis. 1

As I sit writing, Robert [Pope] is cutting some rings out of a piece of coal.

We had a nice time while scouting & we lived on the fat of the lamb when we got hungry. All we had to do was to ride up to a negro and tell him to give us the best & he had to do it without any muttering. We captured two (2) prisoners and destroyed a Rebel ferry boat that was on the White River. We went seventy (70) miles down the Mississippi and landed at a small town by the name of Laconia & then marched twenty (20) miles across the country to White River. We fired on their pickets which made them tremble. They were about 2,000 strong as near as we could learn. We had one regiment of cavalry, one regiment of infantry, and the 1st Indiana Battery. We were gone from camp just seven (7) days.

This army is quite unhealthy. I don’t suppose that there is a regiment in this Division that can report more than half of their number fit for duty. This regiment reports 320 out of 982. Company M reports 32 for duty out of 95. I don’t want this statement to alarm you folks but it is a true statement of the health.

This Division received orders to prepare for a move and the boys all thought for a few days that we would move somewhere and were delighted with the idea but now they have all given up in despair & think we are bound to stay here. Nobody knows how long.

In regard to Fred’s leaving, some of the boys are glad that he has gone. For my part, I should like his company, of course, but if he had rather live on praise, why let live there and enjoy himself. I received a letter from him stating that he had reached home in safety.

Brownie, you will please excuse this half sheet of paper. It is the first that I could get hold of. If you are as prompt in answering as I have been, I shall look for a letter from you in just two weeks. It has been only four hours since I received yours. I never was more delighted that I was to see your signature. It is the first time I ever did at the bottom of a sheet.

Yours as ever, — J. E. Brown

1 Lester Thayer died at Memphis on 1 October 1862.


Letter 2

Camp of the 9th, Company M
Near Helena [Arkansas]
November 2nd 1862

My friend Brown,

Monday morn. Last Saturday evening I came up to the camp so as to be with the boys for I have been so lonesome since Lieut. went home. I found the boys all well and lively. It is much pleasanter to be with them than to be in camp with the sick. Soon after I reached the camp I received yours dated the 26th and one from Sarah. I intended to answer yours yesterday by all means but 18 of Company M was ordered out on picket & as I never had performed any duty of that kind, I went out for the sake of curiosity. We stood on the outside post which is the most dangerous. I have always heard and read that the soldiers always wanted to stand on the most dangerous posts &c but never believed it. But I find it is the case, the more danger the more anxious they are.

Brown, I don’t believe you can read this miserable written letter but please excuse for I have nothing to write on but a shingle and sit on the ground at that. Bob is sitting by [my] side sewing up rips. It has been reported in camp that Col. [Albert Gallatin] Brackett has had the offer of taking this regiment to Alton for Provost Guard during the winter but I don’t believe it. We can’t have as good luck as that.

I can’t give you any news for I have none. The boys have ate all the young pigs, chickens, turkeys, & geese in the country. I see by the papers that a battle is expected at Helena but I can’t see anything that looks like it. I guess the rebels will find it in our possession for some time to come. Helena is well fortified. Besides, we have a guard of 5,000 all the time. The way the guards are posted, they will stand a good fight by themselves.

I’ve not got time to write much more before the mail goes out. I trust you will excuse back writing blobs &c. I wrote to Will last Thursday hoping he will answer them sooner than before.

Brown, I’m very obliged for the stamps but I had much rather send you stamps than for you to send to me. We are all quite well out here. I can eat all the time.

I heard this afternoon that Henry Phelps is sick again & is going up the river probably for St. Louis or Keokuk (Iowa). Some of Company M are at St. Louis & some at Keokuk. If Henry has a relapse, I’m afraid that he will never reach home.

I hope Miss Mary B. will remain contented in Illinois.

The boys all send love &c. Give my respects to all the family &c.

Believe me your friend, — J. E. Brown


Letter 3

[Near Memphis, Tennessee]
Thursday Evening
July 15th 1864

Brown, my friend,

Here I am as usual in camp and of course writing to my friend, P. P. Brownie. I was not a little surprised when I found in your letter the note from Miss Lettie but of course I was much pleased and deem it my duty—and very agreeable duty—to write her at some convenient time and place. I will not write her this eve. Bill is lying on the flat of his back, laughing till he cannot breath, over some conundrum &c.

Bill and I went up town this forenoon and saw some of the prettiest and loveliest girls that ever walked the streets of Memphis. Brown, I became acquainted with a very intelligent, young lady a few weeks ago and this morn when I bade her goodbye, she said to my surprise that it was goodbye forever and now I’m totally ruined and what to do, I don’t know. This lady—Miss Alice Gray—is going to Chicago and if you ever see her, kiss her and tell her that I love her and she can’t help it. Here I am—no where. to go nor any place to stay. No one to come to see me nor anyone to go and see. So here I am and where I am.

I should like to know what that joke was that you spoke of. I hardly know who you mean by (Johnnie the Pre___). Our cook says supper is ready so I will eat, then finish. When I say, our Cook, I don’t mean Asa P. Cook but our wench cook.

After tea, 7:15 o’clock.

Latest rumor from the boys states that General Forrest is killed and 900 of his command taken prisoner. I hardly credit the report but hope it may prove true. If reports be true, our forces have given Forrest as good as he gave us when Sturges was commanding.

It’s getting too dark to write, therefore I will close hoping that Miss Lettie can kiss the original face the next time she is in kissing humor and of course I will return two for one.

I am as ever yours. Remember me to all and kiss those that need it. Accept my undying love and write soon to Jac. E. Brown

Leave a comment